Just a few pictures…

Not many words to this post, just a handful of shots taken out and about with various hand-held devices…

Storm Doris uprooted a tree – A Scots pine, sadly – in the park, no more than about 80 yards from our front door. Not just any Scots pine either, although any loss is one too many; this was the tree where the female sparrowhawk used to sit – big, even for a female, and queen of all she surveyed. Recent work on the path around the pool may have destabilised the roots somewhat; if so, other pines in the same stand might be similarly at risk…

dsc_0001_edited-1

dsc_0004_edited-1

This run of attractive and cleverly woven fencing along a stretch of the Droitwich canal, utilising the trunks and branches from an established hedge; hazel, I think, although I’m no expert. I believe the weaving technique has a local name which, like so much these days, escapes me. Whatever it’s called, it looks nicer than chain-link and razor wire…

dscn1159

dscn1162

Last week in February and rhododendrons already in full bloom – or very close to it – Bunkers Hill Wood, right on the West Midlands/South Staffordshire border…

dsc_0012

dsc_0010

Hampton Loade station, Severn Valley Railway, and I’m reminded that, like it or not, I’m looking at a scene that – more years ago than I care to remember – I would have witnessed many times out on the main line: an old, first generation, diesel multiple unit, standing alongside a BR tank engine pulling coaching stock. Dudley Port low level, early sixties, heading for The Hawthorns to watch The Albion; who knows where the time goes?

dscn1183

And a carrion crow – plumage more blue-black and unblemished than any I can ever recall seeing…

dsc01101

The shot of the carrion crow was taken on my son’s Sony HX300 bridge camera, which easily outperforms my Nikon P510, although it is a bit bigger and heavier.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Just a few pictures…

    • Hi Conrad, we sometimes see woven fencing around – some of the local stables seem to be quite fond of it in their paddocks – but that’s lighter weight, almost like basketwork, and built in sections to make it portable.

      Some of this stuff was still rooted into the ground along the line of the old edge and just part-cut and then bent over, with other pieces then woven into the framework. I’m sure I’ve seen an item on it in a local news programme, but I’ve forgotten the name of the technique.

      Like

  1. It’s called hedge laying, and it’s still fairly common around these parts. It provides robust fencing for live-stock that is wind porous. I’ll stake some shots of some local work later this week.

    Like

  2. Alan, thank you; that allowed me to do a bit of judicious googling and find the word I couldn’t remember – Pleaching. I think I might have seen it on one of the many episodes of Escape to the Country, which I’ve been forced to sit through as a penance for some misdemeanour or other.

    Like

Leave a Reply

